© The Nobel Foundation
Stanley Cohen

American Jewish Recipients of the Nobel Prize

Stanley Cohen: Nobel Prize in
Physiology or Medicine, 1986

by Seymour “Sy” Brody

Stanley Cohen is an American Jewish recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, in 1986. He shared this award with Rita Levi-Montalcini for their discoveries of growth factors.

Cohen was born on November 17, 1922, in Brooklyn, New York. After graduating from high school, he attended Brooklyn College with a B.S. with majors in Chemistry and Biology. He received his M.A. in Zoology from Oberlin College, in 1945. Cohen received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, in 1948.

His first job was with the University of Colorado, in the Department of Pediatrics and Biochemistry. He was involved in metabolic studies of premature infants.

In 1952, Cohen went to the Department of Radiology, at Washington University, in St. Louis, Missouri, as a postdoctoral fellow of the American Cancer Society. He became associated with the Department of Zoology where he first met Rita Levi-Montalcini.

In 1959. He went to Vanderbilt University as an Assistant Professor in the Biochemistry Department. He has remained here all of these years. In 1975, he was appointed as an American Cancer Society Research Professor. In 1986, he became a Distinguished Professor.

Stanley Cohen received many awards and honors:
● Research Career Development Award, National Institutes of Health, 1959-1969
● National Paraplegia Foundation's Second Annual William Thomson Wakeman Award, 1974
● American Cancer Society Research Professor of Biochemistry, 1976
● Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research, Vanderbilt University, 1977
● Albion O. Bernstein, M.D. Award, Medical Society of the State of New York, 1978
● National Academy of Science, 1980
● H.P. Robertson Memorial Award, National Academy of Science, 1981
● Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award, Brandeis University, 1982
● General Motors Cancer Research Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Award, 1982
● Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, Columbia University, 1983
● Distinguished Achievement Award of the UCLA Laboratory of Biomedical and Environmental Sciences, 1983
● Lila Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award, American Academy of Dermatology, 1983
● Bertner Award of M.D. Anderson Hospital, University of Texas, 1983
● American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1984
● Charles B. Smith Visiting Research Professorship, Sloan Kettering, 1984
● Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Chicago, 1985
● Gairdner Foundation International Award, 1985
● Feodor Lynen Lecturer, University of Miami 18th Miami Winter Symposium, 1986
● National Medal of Science, 1986
● Steenbock Lecturer, University of Wisconsin, 1986
● Fred Conrad Koch Award, The Endocrine Society, 1986
● Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, 1986

Return to Table of Contents