© The Nobel Foundation
Steven Weinberg

American Jewish Recipients of the Nobel Prize

Steven Weinberg: Nobel Prize in Physics Recipient-1979
by Seymour “Sy” Brody

Steven Weinberg is an American Jewish recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979, which he shared with Sheldon Lee Glashow and Abdus Salam, for their contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnet interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current.

He was born in 1933, in New York City, the son of Eva and Frederick Weinberg. His father encouraged him to pursue a career in theoretical physics when he was 15 years old.

He went to Cornell University and received his B.S. in physics, in 1954. He then went to the Neils Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark. It was here where he started to do research in physics. After a year, he went to Princeton University, where he received his Ph.D., in 1957.

When he was an undergraduate at Cornell University, he met his wife, Louise, and they were married in 1963. She became a professor of law and they have a daughter, Elizabeth.

He went to the University of California, at Berkeley, to do research, 1959-1966. He accepted a professorship in the Physics Department of M. I. T. In 1973, he accepted the chair as the Higgins Professor of Physics and at the same time, he was appointed as Senior Scientist at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

In 1982, he became the Josey Regental Professor of Science at the university of Texas, in Austin.

Steven Weinberg has received many awards and honors:
● Honorary Doctorate of Science Degrees from the University Chicago, Knox College, City University of New York, University of Rochester, Clark University, Yale University, Dartmouth College, Weizmann Institute (Israel), Clark University, Washington College and Columbia University
● A member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1968
● A member of the National Academy of Sciences, 1972
● J. R. Oppenheimer Prize, 1973
● Richtmeyer Lecturer of the American Association of Physic Teachers, 1974
● Scott Lecturer, Cavendish Laboratory, 1975
● Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, 1977
● Silliman Lecturer, Yale University, 1977
● American Institute of Physics-U.S. Steel Foundation Science Writing Award, 1977
● Lauritsen Lecturer, Cal. Tech., 1979
● Bethe Lecturer, Cornell University, 1979
● Elliot Cresson Medal, Franklin Institute, 1979
● Elected to the American Philosophical Society, Royal Society of London and the Philosophical Society of Texas
● Henry Lecturer, Princeton University, 1981
● Cherwell-Simon Lecturer, University of Oxford, 1983
● Bampton Lecturer, Columbia University, 1983
● Einstein Lecturer, Israel Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1984
● McDermott Lecturer, University of Dallas, 1985
● Hilldale Lecturer, University of Wisconsin, 1985
● Clark Lecturer, University of Texas at Dallas, 1986
● Brickweede Lecturer, John Hopkins University, 1986
● Dirac Lecturer, University of Cambridge, Great Britain, 1985
● Klein Lecturer, University of Stockholm, Sweden, 1989
● James Madison Medal of Princeton University, 1991
● National Medal of Science, 1991

Return to Table of Contents