© The Nobel Foundation
Frederick Reines

American Jewish Recipients of the Nobel Prize

Frederick Reines: Nobel Prize in Physics Recipient-1995
by Seymour “Sy” Brody

Federick Reines was an American Jewish recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics, 1995, which he shared with Milton L. Perl, for his for pioneering experimental contributions to lepton physics and for the discovery of the tau lepton.

He was born March 18, 1918, in Paterson, New Jersey. His parents were Gussie and Israel Reines and his father was a store proprietor. Frederick, in his youth, was a member of the Boy Scouts of America, and he became an Eagle Scout.

He graduated Union Hill High School, in Union, New Jersey. He then went to Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey and received his B.S., in 1939, and his M.A., 1941. He received his Ph.D., in 1944, from New York University.

In 1944, he was recruited as a staff member, under Richard Feynman, in the Theoretical Division at the Las Alamos Scientific Laboratory to work on the Manhattan Project. He remained for about 15 years.

In 1959, he became a Professor and Head of the Department of Physics at Case Institute of Technology, Cleveland, Ohio. He build a group working in reactor neuteino physics.

In 1966, Reines went to the University of California, Irvine, as a Professor and the founding Dean of the School of Physical Science. In 1974, stepped down as the Dean, so that he could devote full time to teaching. He remained on the faculty until his death, on August 26, 1998, in Orange California.

He was married to Sylvia Samuels, in 1940. They had two children, Robert and Alisa.

Frederick Reines received many awards and honors in his career:

● Sigma Xi, 1944
● Tbp
● Centennial Lecturer, University of Maryland, 1956
● Fellow of the American Physical Society, 1957
● Guggenheim Fellow, 1958-1959
● Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 1959-1963
● Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1966
● Honorary Doctor of Science Degree, University of Witwatersrand,Johannesburg, South Africa, 1966
● Phi Beta Kappa, 1969
● Stevens Honor Award, 1971
● Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, University of California, Irvine, 1979
● Fellow, American Association Advancement of Science, 1979
● National Academy of Sciences, 1980
● J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize, 1981
● Honorary Doctor of Engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology, 1984
● Medal for Outstanding Research, University of California, Irvine, 1985
● National Medal of Science, 1985
● L.I. Schiff Memorial Lecturer, Stanford University, 1988
● Albert Einstein Memorial Lecturer, Israel Academy of the Sciences and Humanities, Jerusalem, 1988
● Bruno Rossi Prize, American Astronomical Society, 1989
● Michelson-Morley Award, 1990
● Goudsmidt Memorial Lecturer, 1990
● New York University Plaque, 1990
● Distinguished Alumnus Award, New York University, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, 1990
● W.K.H. Panofsky Prize, 1992
● The Franklin Medal, awarded by the Benjamin Franklin Institute Committee on Science and the Arts, 1992
● Foreign Member, Russian Academy of Sciences, 1994

Return to Table of Contents