© The Nobel Foundation
David J. Gross

American Jewish Recipients of the Nobel Prize


David J. Gross: Nobel Prize in Physics Recipient-2004
by Seymour “Sy” Brody.

David J. Gross is an American Jewish recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics, in 2004, which he shared with H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek for their discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction.

He was born February 19, 1941, in Washington, D.C. His grandparents were Jewish immigrants from Czechoslovakia-Hungry. His father attended the University of Pennsylvania and became a staff member of United States Senator James Murray. His mother, Nora, graduated from Barnard College, she majored in Chemistry, but, never pursued her career.

Gross spent his childhood in Arlington, Virginia. In 1953, his father was a member of an advisory team that was sent to Israel to help this new nation with a monetary package. After graduating from an Israeli high school, Gross entered Hebrew University where he received his B.S. and Master’s Degrees in Physics, in 1962.

He entered the University of California, at Berkeley, to work on his Ph.D., which he received in 1966. He became a Junior Fellow at Harvard University and took a position as a professor at Princeton University until 1997.

Gross had two children with his first wife, Shulamith; Aiela Gross who is a historian and a professor of law and the mother of his grandchildren, Sophia and Rapheala. His other daughter is Elisheva Gross, who was working on her doctorate in psychology. He is now living with his second wife, Jacquelyn Savani and his stepdaughter, Miranda Savani, in Santa Barbara, California.

David J. Gross has received many awards and honors:
● Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1970-1974
● Fellow of the American Physical Society, elected in 1974
● Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, elected 1985
● A member of the National Academy of Sciences, 1986
● Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1987
● J. J. Sakurai Prize of the American Physical Society, 1986
● MacArthur Foundation Fellowship Prize, 1987
● Dirac Medal, 1988
● Docteur Philosophiae Honoris Causa, University of Montpellier, 2000
● Oskar Klein Medal, Stockholm University, Sweden, 2000
● Harvey Prize Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, 2000
● Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Hebrew University, Jerusalem. 2001
● European Physical Society Prize, Elementary Particle Physics, 2003
● Grand Medaille d’or, Academie des Sciences, France, 2004

Return to Table of Contents